The “Why” within us !

If I was to say to you to get up now and read a verse out of the Quran, Would you?

No!

Any reasons?

Many!

Why?Image

This “Why” is very hard to understand. Some dip their “Why’s” into numerable and endless excuses, whereas some have valid reasons. But I am more concerned to the point of how come we come with such magnificent excuses or a total repression of the thought of lets read the Quran.

Many of us have surely read the diligent forwards on “bbms”, status updates on facebooks, and tweets on twitters, but nobody really realizes the depth of it.

When you carry a Quran, the devil gets a headache… When you open it, he collapses. When he sees you reading it, he faints. When he sees you living by it, he flees. And just when you start to lean on God, he will try and discourage you!

Well I really don’t know if the devil gets a headache or not!

But he surely tries to give us a headache by doing everything in his regime to avert our desires.

But if we reflect on this message which is always forwarded, we can surely learn one thing that truly anything good which we attempt to do, is hard.

It’s always hard to get up in the middle of night and pray!

It’s so hard to get a glass of water for our brothers.

It’s terrible to make tea for guests

It’s super duper hard to close your ears and focus on the Quran in front of you.

You would notice that all obstructions would start coming from the minute you decide to read it. And it is not something I am writing down, but it is something I have felt too!

Like today, Friday I decided to read the Quran and what happened. I thought I would sit on the computer table and read but I felt let’s just refresh facebook page! Then my brother comes home and the temptation of bugging him, then I feel lets have some drink, then I hear my blackberry ping and then I feel let’s sleep!

And at that minute I knew that Satan just won over me!

And if now also I want to go and read I am compelled in my head by saying to my brain, “let me finish writing!”

We would do anything but fight our own Ego.

“O Children of Adam! Let not Shaitan (Satan) deceive you, as he got your parents (Adam and Hawwa’ (Eve)) out of Paradise,”(Quran, Al-Aaraf: 27).

“. . . and follow not the footsteps of ‘Shaitan’ (Satan). Surely he is to you an open enemy” (Quran, Al-Anaam: 142).

“Surely, Shaitan (Satan) is an enemy to you, so take (treat) him as an enemy. He only invites his Hizb (followers) that they may become the dwellers of the blazing Fire” (Faatir 35:6).

“And if an evil whisper from Shaitan (Satan) tries to turn you away (O Muhammad) (from doing good), then seek refuge in Allah. Verily, He is the All Hearer, the All Knower” (Quran, Fussilat: 36).

“Verily, he and Qabiluhu (his soldiers from the jinn or his tribe) see you from where you cannot see them” (Quran, Aal-e-Imran: 27).

 “The Shaitan ties three knots at the back of the head of any one of you when he goes to sleep, striking each knot and saying: “You have a long night ahead, so sleep.” If he wakes up and remembers Allah, one knot is undone. If he does wudoo’, two knots are undone. If he prays, all the knots are undone, and he starts the day energetic and in a good mood. Otherwise, he starts his day in a bad mood and feeling lazy” (al-Bukhaari (3269) and Muslim (776)).

“And Shaitan (Satan) will say when the matter has been decided: ‘Verily, Allah promised you a promise of truth. And I too promised you, but I betrayed you. I had no authority over you except that I called you, and you responded to me. So blame me not, but blame yourselves. I cannot help you, nor can you help me. I deny your former act in associating me (Satan) as a partner with Allah (by obeying me in the life of the world). Verily, there is a painful torment for the Zaalimoon (polytheists and wrongdoers)’” (Quran, Ibraaheem: 22).

Allah says in the Quran:

“(Iblis (Satan)) said: ‘By Your Might, then I will surely mislead them all. Except Your chosen slaves amongst them (i.e. faithful, obedient, true believers of Islamic Monotheism).’” (Quran, Saad: 82-83).

Allah said to Satan:

“Certainly, you shall have no authority over My slaves, except those who follow you of the Ghawun (Mushrikun and those who go astray, criminals, polytheists, and evil-doers)” (Quran, Al-Hijr: 42).

Allah tells us in the Quran: “Shaitan (Satan) threatens you with poverty and orders you to commit Fahsha (evil deeds, sins, illegal sexual activities, etc.) whereas Allah promises you forgiveness from Himself and Bounty, and Allah is All-Sufficient for His creature’s needs, All-Knower” (Quran, al-Baqarah: 268).

Allah warns us that one of Satan’s tactics is to make us fear His creation. He says in the Quran: “It is only Shaitan (Satan) that suggests to you the fear of his Auliya’ (supporters and friends (polytheists, disbelievers in the Oneness of Allah and in His Messenger Muhammad); so fear them not, but fear Me, if you are (true) believers” (Quran, Aal-e-Imran: 175).

“And if an evil whisper comes to you from Shaitan (Satan), then seek refuge with Allah. Verily, He is All-Hearer, All-Knower”(Quran, Al-Aaraf: 200)

-sara k

4 thoughts on “The “Why” within us !

  1. I experience the same, as do many others. Like, today, I wanted to read Surat Al-Kahf and couldn’t decide whether to read it on my i-pad or in the hard copy, then eventually delayed it. But after reading your post, I decided to settle down and read it, so thank you. Lovely post overall.

Leave a Reply

